Choose a language
Saturday, April 10, 2021

EU trip to Iran cancelled

The trip to Iran of an EU delegation is cancelled from the Iranian government. Thanks a lot for your support in protesting against the trip! 

However, the trip of the German delegation is taking place.

STOP THE BOMB, October 27, 2012


No EU-Delegation to Iran!

Support the protests against the planned trip by members of the European Parliament to Iran!

Formulate a letter or use the form of STOP THE BOMB.
Our press release can be found here.

Your letter will be sent to the following recipients:

Martin Schulz, President of the European parliament (Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats, Germany):

Members of the Conference of Presidents of the European parliament:
Joseph Daul (European People's Party, France):
Hannes Swoboda (Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats, Austria):
Guy Verhofstadt (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats, Belgium) :
Rebecca Harms (Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance, Germany):
Daniel Cohn-Bendit (Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance, Germany):
Martin Callanan (European Conservatives and Reformists, Great Britain):
Gabriele Zimmer (European United Left - Nordic Green Left, Germany):
Francesco Enrico Speroni (Europe of freedom and democracy, Italy):
Nigel Farage (Europe of freedom and democracy, Great Britain):

Delegation for relations with Iran:
Tarja Cronberg, Chair (Greens/European Free Alliance, Finland):
Cornelia Ernst, Vice Chair (European United Left-Nordic Green Left, Germany):

Additional Members of the planned delegation to Iran:
Isabell Durant (Greens/European Free Alliance, Belgium):
Marietje Schaake (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats, Netherlands):
Kathleen van Brempt (Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats, Belgium):
Pawel Zalewski (European People's Party, Poland):
Josef Weidenholzer (Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats, Austria):


Press Release: STOP THE BOMB demands cancellation of EU trip to Iran

EU delegation's visit to Iran thwarts sanctions

STOP THE BOMB Europe, October 16, 2012

The European coalition STOP THE BOMB, which campaigns for tough economic and political sanctions against the Iranian regime, demands the cancellation of the trip by a delegation of the European parliament to Iran, scheduled for October 27th.
Considering the given situation, in which the Iranian regime unwaveringly cherishes its nuclear program, continuously repeats its threats of annihilation towards Israel, represses by brute force every movement of the opposition in Iran and directly participates in quelling the protests in Syria, this visit would set the worst signal possible and subvert the Iranian opposition.
STOP THE BOMB's spokesperson for Europe, Simone Dinah Hartmann, directly addresses the President of the EU Parliament, Martin Schulz: "We urge the conference of Presidents to prohibit courting the Iranian Regime as they did in 2011. This trip entirely contradicts the spirit of the EU's sanctions and it thwarts the recent decisions by the EU member states. Instead of increasing pressure on Tehran, this trip offers the regime the possibility to celebrate yet another propaganda success."



Media and responses

EU business - Euro-MPs cancel Iran visit in row over rights prize winners (Oct 27, 2012)

European Conservatives and Reformists group - European Parliament delegation to Iran would be ‘entirely inappropriate’ (Oct 18, 2012)

UPI - Ryszard Czarnecki (MEP): We should not send mixed messages to Iran (Oct 18, 2012)

The Parliament - Senior MEP Martin Callanan has become the latest deputy to call for the visit to be cancelled (Oct 18, 2012)

JTA - European Parliament members urged not to visit Iran (Oct 18, 2012)

Paweł Zalewski (member of the EP delegation to Iran from EPP): European Parliament should cancel its visit in Iran (Oct 17, 2012)

US Senators Ben Cardin and Jeanne Shaheen urged President Schulz to reconsider a planned visit by European officials to Iran (Oct 17, 2012)

EJP - Stop the Bomb coalition urges cancellation of EU parliament delegation trip to Iran (Oct 16, 2012)